The RESTENA Foundation has been created by decree of the Grand-Duchy of Luxembourg on 27 July 2000.

The administrative council of RESTENA Foundation is composed of representatives from the member institutions

as well as of the Ministry of National Education (MEN), the Ministry of Higher Education and Research (MESR), the Ministry of Finance (MF), the Centre for educational IT (CGIE), the Government IT Centre (CTIE) and the Department of Media, Telecommunications and Digital Policy (SMC).