Services

VPN

Securely access internal/Intranet resources and services outside of the RESTENA network.

Challenges

In order to access certain RESTENA services (Intranet services such as the e-mail directory) and/or certain pedagogical and administrative resources created by the Centre de gestion informatique de l'éducation (GGIE) for the purposes of national education (Intranet services such as the SCOLARIA application and others), you need to have access to the national network dedicated to stakeholders in research and education in Luxembourg managed by the Restena Foundation. This access is automatic from any computer connected to the network of an institution that is eligible for RESTENA services (connected establishments). 

In order to access theses services outside of the RESTENA network, the installation of a Virtual Private Network (VPN) is one option, in addition to DSL/Fibre access, offered by the Restena Foundation. The VPN must be individually installed on each IT device (computer, tablet, or smartphone) that the user wants to be connected to the RESTENA network. 

Features

The Restena Foundation offers VPN access to eligible users who want to access internal/Intranet resources and services without being connected to their institution's computing network (i.e. from another institution for which the Foundation serves as an Internet service provider). The VPN's main function is to allow users who are not physically present at their workplace and who are connected outside of the RESTENA network to securely use all of RESTENA's national education services.

After establishing a secure connection between the VPN server and its workstation(s), now regarded as if they were part of the internal network, the user may directly access the network's Intranet resources. Once virtually present on the RESTENA network, the user may directly access the Restena Foundation's Intranet services, such as accessing its e-mail directory and those of the Ministry of Education/CGIE, such as the SCOLARIA application, etc. 

Benefits

Secure connection to the RESTENA network and access to the internal/Intranet services of the Restena Foundation and/or the Ministry of Education/CGIE 

Access is available from any Internet service provider and within any country

Option to connect one or more computer(s), telephone(s), tablet(s), or smartphone(s)

Installation and use

The installation and use of a VPN client/software are only required in the following circumstances:

1

if you need a secure connection to the Intranet services of the Restena Foundation or the Ministry of Education, Children, and Youth, such as accessing student file applications or SCOLARIA

2

if you are connected to the Internet by a service provider other than the Restena Foundation (check your Internet service provider by using the personalised network diagnostic located on our Helpdesk page)

3

if you have a user account for RESTENA services (RESTENA user name and password) 

To see whether you need a VPN service, check your connection!

More details on the service

Who can benefit?

The service is intended for any RESTENA user connected outside of RESTENA Intranet services who wants to access the RESTENA Intranet services that cannot be accessed externally, or national education resources and services (e.g. the SCOLARIA application of the Ministry/CGIE), access to which is restricted to the RESTENA network.

How to benefit?

VPN access is restricted to RESTENA users and requires a RESTENA account. It is necessary to install and set up VPN client/software on the user's computer.

Some useful information

For security reasons, the use of a VPN service is generally recommended for any untrusted internet access (e.g. unencrypted WiFi, internet connection in a hotel, etc.)

Assistance and support

Services

Other services that might be of interest to you

Have a question?

  • Faq
  • Documentation
  • How can I access the intranet resources of the RESTENA network?

    1. Install the VPN client integrated into your system on your computer, tablet or smartphone.
    2. Configure your VPN connection with the username (and password if you have not changed it in the mean time) provided when creating your user account for RESTENA services. To do this, follow the configuration instructions specific to each type of device, as described in the VPN connection configuration documentation.

    Important: For people working on behalf of National Education in Luxembourg, the IAM login credentials provided by the Ministry of National Education, Children and Youth are not valid.

    Note: Access to the VPN is only available to those working at a RESTENA-connected institution that has subscribed to RESTENA services.

  • Why is my VPN connection not working (or no longer working)?

    You have probably run into an authentication problem: check your username and password!

    To connect to the Restena Foundation’s Virtual Private Network (VPN), please provide the username (and password if you haven’t changed it in the mean time) provided on creating your user account for RESTENA services. The login information is identical to what you use to log into the RESTENA User Portal.

    If the problem persists, check the configuration of your VPN connection by referring to our dedicated documentation.

    Important: For people working on behalf of National Education in Luxembourg, the IAM login credentials provided by the Ministry of National Education, Children and Youth are not valid.

    Note: Access to the VPN is only available to those working at a RESTENA-connected institution that has subscribed to RESTENA services.

Haven't found the information you needed?

Services

VPN

Accéder aux ressources et services internes / Intranet en dehors du réseau RESTENA et en toute sécurité.

Enjeux

Pour accéder à certains services RESTENA (services Intranet tels que l’annuaire des adresses email) et/ou à certaines ressources pédagogiques et administratives mises en place par le Centre de gestion informatique de l'éducation (CGIE) réservées à l’éducation nationale (services Intranet tels que l’application SCOLARIA et autres), un accès au réseau national dédié aux acteurs de la recherche et de l’éducation au Luxembourg géré par la Fondation Restena est exigé. Cet accès est automatique depuis tout poste informatique connecté au réseau de son institution éligible aux services RESTENA (établissements connectés).

Afin de pouvoir accéder à ces services en dehors du réseau RESTENA, l’installation d'un réseau virtuel privé (Virtual Private Network - VPN) est une des possibilités offertes, en plus de l’accès DSL/Fibre, par la Fondation Restena. Le VPN doit être installé individuellement sur chaque équipement informatique (ordinateur, tablette ou smartphone) que l’utilisateur souhaite connecter au réseau RESTENA. 

Caractéristiques

La Fondation Restena propose un accès VPN aux usagers éligibles souhaitant accéder à des ressources et services internes/ Intranet sans être sur le réseau informatique de leur institution connectée (voire d’une autre institution pour laquelle elle agit comme fournisseur d’accès à Internet). Le VPN permet principalement aux utilisateurs qui ne sont pas présents sur le lieu physique de leur travail et qui sont connectés en dehors du réseau RESTENA d’utiliser en toute confiance l’ensemble des services RESTENA et services de l’éducation nationale.

Après avoir établi une liaison sécurisée entre le serveur VPN et son ou ses postes de travail, désormais considérés comme faisant partie du réseau interne, l’utilisateur accède directement aux ressources intranet du réseau. Virtuellement présent sur le réseau RESTENA, il peut accéder directement aux ressources et services de l'Intranet de la Fondation Restena, tels que l’accès à l’annuaire des adresses email et ceux du Ministère de l'Éducation nationale / CGIE, tels que l’application SCOLARIA, etc.

Avantages

Connexion sécurisée au réseau RESTENA et accès aux ressources et services internes/ Intranet de la Fondation Restena et/ ou du Ministère de l'Éducation nationale / CGIE

Accès possible depuis n’importe quel fournisseur d’accès à Internet et depuis n’importe quel pays

Possibilité de connecter un ou plusieurs ordinateur(s), téléphone(s), tablette(s) ou smartphone(s)

Installation et utilisation

L’installation et l’utilisation d’un client/ d’un logiciel VPN sont opportuns uniquement dans les cas suivants :

1

si vous avez besoin d'une connexion sécurisée vers des services Intranet de la Fondation Restena ou du Ministère de l'Éducation nationale, de l'Enfance et de la Jeunesse, tels que l’accès aux applications fichier élèves ou SCOLARIA

2

si vous êtes connectés à Internet par un fournisseur de service autre que la Fondation Restena (vérifiez votre fournisseur d’accès à Internet grâce au diagnostic réseau personnalisé de notre page Helpdesk)

3

si vous bénéficiez d’un compte utilisateur pour les services RESTENA (nom d'utilisateur RESTENA et mot de passe)

Pour savoir si vous avez besoin du service VPN, testez votre connexion !

Plus de détails sur le service

Qui peut en bénéficier ?

Le service s’adresse à tout usager RESTENA connecté en dehors du réseau, souhaitant accéder à des services RESTENA intranet inaccessibles de l’extérieur, ou bien à des ressources et services de l’éducation nationale (application SCOLARIA du Ministère/ CGIE) dont l’accès est réservé au réseau RESTENA.

Comment en bénéficier ?

L’accès VPN est réservé aux utilisateurs RESTENA et nécessite un compte RESTENA. L’installation et la configuration d’un client/logiciel VPN sur le poste utilisateur sont requises.

Quelques informations utiles

Pour des raisons de sécurité, l'utilisation d'un service VPN est en général recommandée pour tout accès Internet non digne de confiance (WiFi non chiffré, connexion internet dans un hôtel, etc.)

Assistance et support

Services

Autres services qui pourraient vous intéresser

Vous avez une question ?

  • Faq
  • Documentation
  • Comment puis-je accéder aux ressources Intranet du réseau Restena ?

    1. Installer sur votre ordinateur, tablette ou smartphone le client VPN intégré dans votre système.
    2. Configurez votre connexion VPN grâce au nom d’utilisateur (et au mot de passe si vous ne l’avez pas changé entre temps) fourni lors de la création de votre compte utilisateur pour les services RESTENA. Pour cela, suivez les instructions de configuration, spécifiques à chaque type d’appareil, décrites dans la documentation de configuration de connexion VPN.

    Important : Pour les personnes travaillant pour le compte de l’éducation nationale au Luxembourg, les identifiants de connexion IAM fournit par le Ministère de l'Éducation nationale, de l'Enfance et de la Jeunesse ne sont pas valables pour configurer le service VPN.

    Note : L’accès au VPN est uniquement réservé aux personnes travaillant dans un établissement connecté au réseau RESTENA ayant souscrit aux services RESTENA.
     

  • Pourquoi ma connexion VPN ne fonctionne pas (ou plus) ?

    Vous rencontrez très probablement un problème d'authentification : vérifiez votre nom d'utilisateur et mot de passe !

    Pour se connecter au réseau virtuel privé (Virtual Private Network - VPN) de la Fondation Restena, munissez-vous du nom d’utilisateur (et du mot de passe si vous ne l’avez pas changé entre temps) fourni lors de la création de votre compte utilisateur pour les services RESTENA. Les informations de connexion sont identiques à celles que vous utilisez pour vous connecter au portail utilisateur RESTENA.

    Si le problème persiste, vérifiez la configuration de votre connexion VPN en consultant notre documentation dédiée.
     
    Important : Pour les personnes travaillant pour le compte de l’éducation nationale au Luxembourg, les identifiants de connexion IAM fournis par le Ministère de l'Éducation nationale, de l'Enfance et de la Jeunesse ne sont pas valables pour configurer le service VPN.

    Note : L’accès au VPN est uniquement réservé aux personnes travaillant dans un établissement connecté au réseau RESTENA ayant souscrit aux services RESTENA.
     

Vous n’avez pas trouvé l’information dont vous avez besoin ?