Services

Anti-virus/anti-spam gateway

Centralised and remote detection and management of spam and viruses passing through e-mail messaging

Challenges

With the increase of means of communication and e-mail exchanges, unwanted messages, also called spam, and even threatening ones like all kinds of viruses are swamping the web and interfere with exchanges. Far from being harmless, these messages may compromise security and the integrity of individuals. Some messages, among the most dangerous, successfully imitate a trusted authority and result in the recipients opening file attachments presented as invoices or contracts. Once 'willingly' opened, these files contain malicious software that can, for example, encrypt the hard drive on which it has been downloaded and demand a price for unlocking it.

To address these threats, it is essential to have anti-virus and anti-spam gateways routing incoming e-mail traffic within the institution's domain name. Operating as an intermediate point between the Internet and the institution's own mail server, their regular updates, particularly in incorporating the latest security measures, play a vital role in ensuring some of the best protected e-mail.

Advanced anti-spam and anti-virus protection

To combat spam and viruses, the Restena Foundation offers professional anti-spam/anti-virus protection to stakeholders in research, education, culture, healthcare, and administration in Luxembourg, whether their messaging is hosted on RESTENA servers or not. For eligible institutions who operate their own e-mail server, the Restena Foundation also offers a complementary centralised anti-spam/anti-virus service. The gateway, on an e-mail relay server hosted by the Restena Foundation, filters incoming e-mails before transmitting them to the institution's internal e-mail server, thus ensuring that internal e-mail is protected. 

Thanks to the anti-spam and anti-virus filtering of messages for addresses within the institution's domain name, the service is an ideal solution for institutions operating their own e-mail server who are looking for advanced anti-spam and anti-virus protection.

Checking of incoming e-mails and attachments

All incoming e-mails and their attachments are checked on a server hosted by the Restena Foundation before reaching the institution's e-mail server, using:

  • spam and virus protection via different tests;
  • flagging of spam and viruses directly in the e-mail subject;
  • automatic virus definition updates;
  • free choice in how messages marked as spam and viruses are processed with the option of directly deleting them in the monitoring gateway before they are even uploaded to the e-mail inbox;
  • scanning of e-mail attachments with the automatic deletion of infected items.

Benefits

Detection and neutralising of infected e-mails before uploading to the institution's e-mail server

Benefits from the latest cybersecurity knowledge base developed as part of the Restena Foundation's IT security operations

Personalised management, within the institution, of the processing of messages flagged as spam or viruses

Temporary storage of pending e-mails for a maximum period of 72 hours and a message volume of up to 10 gigabytes in the event of the target e-mail server being unavailable

Protection of the target server against malicious attacks

Permanent back-up and monitoring of the service architecture

More details on the service

Who can benefit?

Primary, Secondary and Post-Secondary Schools, Higher-Education Establishments, Research Institutes, Cultural Institutions

How to benefit

Any institution interested in the service should contact the Restena Foundation. The service is independent from the e-mail hosting service offered by the Restena Foundation.

The institution's e-mail server must, however, be permanently connected to the Internet with a fixed IP address and receive e-mails on an SMTP standard port (25). The SMTP port must be accessible to the Restena Foundation's IP range.

Some useful information

  • The gateway is compatible with all electronic messaging platforms that support an SMTP platform (TCP/25).
  • Every e-mail detected as spam contains, in its header, information stating that it is spam or, where applicable, that it contains a virus. Infected items are automatically deleted. These flagged messages are delivered to the target e-mail server and may be processed locally depending on the institution's preferences.

Assistance and support

Services

Other services that might be of interest to you

Help desk block

Services

Passerelle anti-virus/anti-spam

Détection et gestion centralisée et délocalisée des spams et virus passant via la messagerie électronique

Enjeux

Avec la prolifération des moyens de communication et des échanges d’e-mails, des messages non désirés, également appelés ‘spams’, et, plus menaçant encore, des virus de toutes sortes inondent la toile et s’immiscent dans les échanges. Loin d’être anodins, ces messages peuvent compromettre la sécurité voire l’intégrité des personnes. Certains courriers, parmi les plus dangereux, arrivent à se faire passer pour une autorité de confiance et amènent l’internaute à ouvrir des fichiers joints masqués comme facture ou contrat. Une fois ouvert ‘volontairement’, ces fichiers contiennent un logiciel malveillant qui peut, par exemple, crypter le disque dur sur lequel il a été téléchargé et une rançon monétaire pour son déblocage est réclamée.

Pour contrer ces menaces, des passerelles anti-virus et anti-spam, acheminant le trafic e-mail entrant du nom de domaine de l’institution sont indispensables. Fonctionnant comme station intermédiaire entre Internet et le serveur mail propre à l’institution, leurs mises à jour régulières, notamment pour être à la pointe des dernières mesures de sécurité, jouent un rôle primordial pour garantir un courrier électronique des plus sains.

Protection anti-spam et anti-virus avançée

Pour lutter contre les spams et virus, la Fondation Restena propose une protection anti-spam/ anti-virus professionnelle aux acteurs de la recherche, de l’éducation, de la culture, de la santé et de l’administration au Luxembourg, que leur messagerie soit hébergée ou non sur les serveurs RESTENA. Pour les institutions éligibles opérant leur propre serveur de messagerie, la Fondation Restena offre ainsi un service complémentaire anti-spam/anti-virus centralisé. La passerelle, basée sur un serveur relais de courrier électronique hébergé par la Fondation Restena, filtre le courriel entrant avant de le transmettre au serveur de messagerie interne de l'institution, garantissant ainsi la protection de la messagerie interne de cette dernière. 

Grâce à un filtrage anti-spam et anti-virus du trafic de messagerie du nom de domaine de l’institution, le service représente une solution idéale pour les institutions opérant leur propre serveur de messagerie souhaitant une protection anti-spam et anti-virus avancée.

Vérification des e-mails entrants et de leurs pièces jointes

Tous les e-mails entrants, ainsi que leurs pièces jointes, sont vérifiés sur un serveur hébergé par la Fondation Restena, avant d'atteindre le serveur mail de l'institution, grâce à :

  • une détection des spams et virus grâce à différents tests ;
  • un marquage des spams et virus directement inséré dans le sujet de l’e-mail ;
  • une mise à jour automatique des définitions virus ;
  • un choix libre du traitement des messages marqués spams et virus avec la possibilité de les supprimer directement sur la passerelle de contrôle avant même son téléchargement dans la boîte électronique ;
  • une analyse des pièces jointes aux courriers électroniques avec suppression automatique des annexes infectées.

Avantages

Détection et neutralisation des emails infectés avant téléchargement sur le serveur de l’institution

Bénéficie des dernières connaissances en cybersécurité développés dans le cadre des activités de sécurité informatique de la Fondation Restena

Gestion personnalisée, au niveau de l’institution, du traitement des messages marqués comme spam ou virus

Conservation temporaire des e-mails en attente, pour une durée maximale de 72 heures et un volume de messages allant jusqu’à 10 Giga octets en cas d'indisponibilité du serveur mail cible

Protection du serveur cible contre des attaques malveillantes

Architecture du service redondée et supervisée en permanence

Plus de détails sur le service

Qui peut en bénéficier ?

Écoles fondamentales, secondaires et post-secondaires, Établissements d'enseignement supérieur, Instituts de recherche, Institutions culturelles

Comment en bénéficier ?

Toute institution intéressée par le service peut s’adresser à la Fondation Restena. Le service est indépendant de la souscription préalable du service d’hébergement email proposé par la Fondation Restena.

Le serveur de messagerie de l’institution doit cependant être connecté en permanence à Internet avec une adresse IP fixe et doit être à l'écoute des e-mails sur le port standard SMTP (25). Le port SMTP doit être accessible par le range IP de la Fondation Restena.

Quelques informations utiles

  • La passerelle est compatible avec toutes les plateformes de messagerie électronique prenant en charge le protocole SMTP (TCP/25).
  • Chaque e-mail détecté comme spam contient dans son en-tête (header) une information indiquant qu'il s'agit d'un spam ou le cas échéant d'un message contenant un virus. Les annexes infectées sont d'office supprimées. Les messages ainsi marqués sont délivrés au serveur mail cible et peuvent être traités localement selon les préférences de l'institution.

Assistance et support

Services

Autres services qui pourraient vous intéresser

Help desk block